Jonathan Green, Gullah Artist

Jonathan Green Gullah Artist portrait by C.Hutson-Wrenn ©2011

My pencil portrait of Jonathan Green, Feb.2011

Artist and painter, Jonathan Green, paints imagery that reflects the vibrant and colorful Gullah culture, so distinctive to the South Carolina Lowcountry. He is also actively involved in Arts in Education.

His presence is colorful and charming, like his paintings. My favorite of these is one I saw large and life size at The Gibbes Museum. It is called Seeking. It is now at Mepkin Abbey.

Born in the small Gullah community of Gardens Corner, South Carolina, the area is rich with history. It is on the beautiful drive down US Hwy 17 on the way to Savannah. Jonathan Green was educated at the Art Institute of Chicago and began a slow and steady rise in Chicago’s arts world. He has in the last few years returned to the south, and works from his studio on Daniel Island. Chuma Gallery in Charleston also carries his work. And look for it in the new inside Market downtown.

Artist and painter Jonathan Green is represented by Chuma Gallery in Charleston SC

Daughters of the South by Jonathan Green

Green was raised by his maternal grandmother after being born to his unmarried mother, who was excommunicated from her church because of her marital status.

In beautiful interviews by The History Makers online, he recalls a sense of alienation in his youth. Using those feelings of apartness, as a child Green began to use it to fuel his art. In these interviews Green also richly details Gullah life and language and some history of South Carolina. “Artist and painter, Jonathan Green recalls friendships with the Chicago’s movers and shakers and how they supported his art…(he) discusses the inspiration behind his works, the Gullah and Cubist influences, and also discusses his patron and later, boyfriend, Richard Weedman and his influence on his career. Green also details that creating art is also maintining a business and shares how that goal is achieved. Artist and painter, Jonathan Green shares his hopes of racial unity and hopes his body of work is representative of his legacy.”

I was called to be an artist. And as an old old midwife said to me "If the Lord wants you to do something, you won't have no good luck' til you do." So, here I am, sharing what I love, longing to illuminate the work of art, which is everywhere.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in art, Arts & Culture, beauty, Charleston South Carolina, Green, Gullah, Poetry, religion, South Carolina History

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 686 other followers

What’s this?

Welcome to my blog about the Lowcountry of South Carolina, a place proud with beauty, history and art. Sometimes we feel a call, to be, to go, to do. I was called to be an artist, and as an old midwife from Alabama said, “If the good Lord wants you to do something, you won’t have no good luck until you do it.”

So here I am writing about what I know, about the 'under glimmer' as the poet Basho, says, the way I have learned to see, to notice. I am inspired by, and talking about the history and art and culture of this place that has called me to herself. By the ancestors.

My background includes a degree in fine arts from a small private college in Florida, and before that, four years of all girls' boarding school in Asheville. I worked as a professional photographer, helped my children grow up, and now and I love seasoned things, good food, better conversation, beauty, my beloved and beautiful Italian Greyhound, Beau. Moved by the sacred places and stories of this beautiful historic land called the Lowcountry, I am here in spirit and I hope to infect you with my love of this place.

Archives
