Homecoming

Part of the charm of the Lowcountry is her trees, and the protective arms of the live oak, dripping with spanish moss. On the natural beaches of the (1000 acre) State Park on Edisto Island, and at the delightfully preserved (4000+ acre) Botany Bay Plantation, to the north of the park, one gets a sense of the natural landscape. It is a jewel we are fortunate to have in South Carolina. Edisto Island is south of Charleston, off Highway 17, and is the last undeveloped barrier island in South Carolina. The drive itself, out Highway 174, is long and winding, over creeks and bridges, through long tree tunnels.

©charlotte hutson-wrenn

©charlotte hutson-wrenn

There is an osprey nest, and eagles, and fishermen and women with buckets by the road. There must be twenty country churches along her 24 miles (that are packed on Sundays!) and tucked in on either side of the road are funky little homesteads with blue painted houses and outside living rooms. There is the evidence of homegrown here, of a natural evolution, an acceptance of the labyrinthine nature of the human condition, symbolized by this road. It is one of those sacred places in the world. This little painting, which is a 9″ x 12″ oil on masonite, is about coming home, about returning to the land of plenty.

I was called to be an artist. And as an old old midwife said to me "If the Lord wants you to do something, you won't have no good luck' til you do." So, here I am, sharing what I love, longing to illuminate the work of art, which is everywhere.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in architecture, art, Arts & Culture, creativity, Green, Gullah
6 comments on “Homecoming
  1. Ah yes – I know it well. A truly magical place. The vision is crafted with words as effectively as with oils. Thanks Charlotte.

  2. Vanessa, what an honor, coming from a woman who makes breathtaking magic through the lens of a camera. Great to hear from you!

  3. Linda Bush says:

    A truely peaceful and restorative picture you paint. Just as the Resurection Fern turns green after a rain so does our soul when we arrive at Edisto.

    • Linda, green, yes; peaceful, restorative…ahhhh…thank you for this great imagery and your kind words, and for your friendship on this sweet isle. (I can’t wait to see your garden this year!)

  4. mischa mangum says:

    love this picture..I have never seen this one before.

  5. Mischa, wow, you must have one. I have these in pigment prints now and the printmaker in Charleston is wonderful. They are really beautiful. Will save you one!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 679 other followers

What’s this?

Welcome to my blog about the Lowcountry of South Carolina, a place proud with beauty, history and art. Sometimes we feel a call, to be, to go, to do. I was called to be an artist, and as an old midwife from Alabama said, “If the good Lord wants you to do something, you won’t have no good luck until you do it.”

So here I am writing about what I know, about the 'under glimmer' as the poet Basho, says, the way I have learned to see, to notice. I am inspired by, and talking about the history and art and culture of this place that has called me to herself. By the ancestors.

My background includes a degree in fine arts from a small private college in Florida, and before that, four years of all girls' boarding school in Asheville. I worked as a professional photographer, helped my children grow up, and now and I love seasoned things, good food, better conversation, beauty, my beloved and beautiful Italian Greyhound, Beau. Moved by the sacred places and stories of this beautiful historic land called the Lowcountry, I am here in spirit and I hope to infect you with my love of this place.

Archives
